Just Keep Writing

I was at a poetry reading last night and came across this thought of
Just Keep Writing
The people we look up to are not great, they are dedicated
They are good because when they don’t know what to do,
they do That Thing you think they’re good at instead of
Well, whatever you’re doing right now to not do
That Thing you want to be good at
I need to write when I don’t feel like it
Write for writings sake
Write when I have no feeling
And write when I have so much feeling nothing comes out
Write one word across ten pages hundreds of times
Until, something happens
And something will happen
Because out of one thousand poems
One, one has to be the one
It’s not greatness
It’s dedication
Or sometimes,
It’s just not knowing what to do
But doing That Thing anyway.

Just Keep Writing

One thought on “Just Keep Writing

Leave a comment