You Were Worth It

You wouldn’t know it
if you never really looked
at her like I do.
Not everyone walks around
and takes pictures of flowers
digital snapshots
of vivid memories.
She changes with the seasons
Seems to flow with the breeze
She’s an apathetic queen
Driven by misery shes only seen.
She wont let anyone in
It must be too damp
Or corroded
Or too cramped for her style
She’s used to being used
And sadness is just another word
Alone is not a description
Its just an existence.

It’s not my fault you don’t
feel the love I give
You don’t have to do this alone
And you never have
But you get what you give.
I have watched you walk away
Too many times to care
about the broken bones from
holding yourself too tight.
You survived and keep surviving
And all you care about is survival
I care about caring
Hugging ghostly corpses
And trying to find you in crowded bars
looking at the backs of heads in dim light
I’m starting to choke on the thick puffs
I’m starting to think none of this
Was ever worth it.

You Were Worth It

2 thoughts on “You Were Worth It

Leave a comment