Transmasculine

My identity has been erased
By women who identity as genderqueer
Because their boyfriend’s broke up with them
Or they feel more comfortable in jeans.
They destroy my self confidence as
They explain how they are gay too
And ask me to talk more about how life is
As a lesbian with my girlfriend
As if it were that easy to erase who I am
Like I could just stop hating everything I am
And be a lesbian instead
How everyone is so accepting of who I am
I’ve become invisible living behind
Girls who think they are men because they wear suits
And men who think it’s manly to punch people
In the face
And I am stuck somewhere underneath the dirt
Invisible like a flower growing
And as I grow I will only be valued once I bloom
So I guess until then
I will have no identity
And I’ll be no one
Because those who are louder are always heard
And those that just want to be accepted for all they are
Might just not be needy enough to be seen
To be heard.

Transmasculine

One thought on “Transmasculine

  1. My identity as a transsexual is being erased by people who insist I call them queer. If you want your term respected, you have to respect the terms others use to describe themselves.

    Like

Leave a comment